top of page
  • Mr. Roos

Tips of the Cap! Your inspiration, help and guidance is greatly appreciated!

Well, the "Talking Tuesday" segment, which will soon be called "Monday Music Guest", owes a huge debt of gratitude to a few people for their guidance as well as inspiration. It's not easy negotiating through the online education world and we have had to adapt very quickly to the new teaching climate we are in.


First of all, Michael Demers who messaged my facebook page almost the second it was up and asked if he could help out and offered his time for an interview segment! I think my facebook page had literally been live for a few mins when we started talking about ZOOM interview possibilities so that he could show the class his studio set-up.


Once again, you can find out about most of his musical endeavors here:


Also thanks to fellow Cassius Morris who has been doing video style interviews on various platforms for quite some time now via his "Cassius Morris Show". His youthful exuberance has been a huge source of inspiration for me starting to post video content. He's great at what he does and interviews folks from several different areas of the entertainment industy... Not just music. Check it out:


Huge thanks to JJ Voss for spending a morning with me working out the kinks with ZOOM in terms of the sound aspect of things. I think we spent about 3 and a half hours together over ZOOM trying to figure things out. Thanks JJ! We had originally talked about jamming together on our segment but that didn't quite work out as planned.


Here is his website:


To Twyla Pederson Gange, Perry Acorn, Andrea Rutz, Elise Hoey-Seto and Shelley Acorn... Thanks for sharing your website and ideas with me. It allowed me to go to wix with confidence and create something that suited my personal needs and, most importantly, the needs of my students:


To Lauren Lohneis for her endless amount of saxophone quartets. It was Lauren that turned me onto doing video things for my students - aka the ukulele songs! And I haven't looked back ever since!


To our awesome principal Mr. Feschuk for his support as well as Jasmin Tiessen for posting all my content onto the school facebook page.


And finally, to Steph Schuurman-Olson, a music educator from Vancouver that creates fantastic classroom videos with her students including a series called "Tuesday Talks" where she invites an artist into her virtual world via ZOOM. Her content is definitely the gold standard and has inspired me and it will likely inspire others who check it out for themselves! Feel free to view her amazing website here. There are lots of fun activities to explore:


To all those that I have missed because there are many - you know who you are and if I remember, I will give you adequate praise in the future!


  • Mr. Roos

34 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page